Basketball With Ralph Williams

We all started somewhere. I learned from Ralph WIlliams in the Morrisania section of the Bronx. Tony Mathias, Arnold Dugger and a bunch of the other guys lived in the same hood!

Community Greens

Ralph Williams lived next door to me at 1330 Franklin Ave. in the Morrisania section of the Bronx. He was older, but he and I were about the same size. Ralph beat me every day. If I knew where he was, I’d pay him back. I owe him. Every day he would beat me on the basketball court.

Ralph wanted to be like his older brothers. They were all-star basketball players. I don’t know if he wanted to be like Walt Frazier but he played like him. He was always smooth and under control. On the court, Ralph anticipated everything. To him, every move, every shot and every score was important. So Ralph practiced every day, on me.

Ralph was always working on his game. He would work on a move until he got it right and could score consistently with it. Then he would tell me how to defend against it. Then…

View original post 704 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under Comments

Leave a Reply

