NYBasketball I.Q. – 5 In 5 No. 9

5 minutes – 5 questions. Sharpen your knowledge. You don’t have to be a referee to answer these questions.

  1. A1 is pushed by B1 while attempting a shot. The official calls a personal foul on B1 and awards A1 two shots with players in their lane positions. Is the official correct?
  2. A1 is fouled by B1. A1 subsequently pushes B1. The official calls a personal foul on B1 and a technical foul on A1. Is the official correct?
  3. B1 is called for an intentional foul on A1 who is in the act of shooting a successful 2 point attempt. The official lines the teams up for 2 free throws. Is the official correct?
  4. B1 has the ball and A2 and B2 foul each other at approximately the same time. The official calls a double personal fowl and awards the ball to Team A which has the possession arrow. Is the official correct?
  5. A1 is dribbling the ball in front court when A2 sets an illegal screen on B1. Team B is in the bonus. The official awards the ball to Team B at the spot nearest the foul. Is the official correct?
  1. Yes 4-19-1; 10-3-7
  2. Yes 4-19-1; 10-3-7
  3. No 4-19-3; 9-11-4
  4. No 4-19-6; 4-36
  5. Yes 12-2-2; 7-5-4a

If you got them all right, GREAT JOB!
If you missed a question or were unclear about the answer, read the appropriate section(s) in the rule book.
Extra Credit: Keep track of your score and your average.

Chuck Vasser, NYB 5 in 5 Editor
William Modeste, NYSUBOA Interpreter
Jim Paull, IAABO Board 42 Interpreter

NYBasketball IQ – 5 In 5 No 9  PDF

Advertisements

Leave a comment

Filed under Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s