There are Rules and Fundamental Assumptions in Basketball*. Simplified: A foul; illegal contact/behavior, is a foul. A violation; illegal actions/circumstances, is a violation. And the winner of the game is the team that has the most points when time expires. These things are clear and arbitrated by the game officials, but often we are not as circumspect about the game clock or shot clock controlled by a timer or shot clock operator who may have limited knowledge of basketball rules and assumptions. Therefore, officials must watch the clock(s)! When the game starts one or both of the officials has to make sure the clocks starts properly. That also goes for every dead ball, held ball, change of possession and shot attempt. Watching the clocks create “definite knowledge” and allows an official to make accurate corrections when necessary. This week’s questions test your knowledge of game and shot clock situations.
- A1 has the ball for a throw in to start the second half and passes the ball inbounds to A2. The official begins a 10 second count when A2 touches the ball and has reached a count of 6 when A2 passes the ball to A3 in the front court. The timer and shot clock operator failed to start the clocks. The official stops the game and advises both the timer and shot clock operator to take 6 seconds off each clock and gives the ball to Team A nearest to where the ball was when the whistle was blown. Is the official correct?
- The score is tied when A1 takes a shot. The buzzer sounds to end the game before the ball enters the basket. The official indicates to the scorer that the basket counts and leaves the court. Is the official correct?
- The game is tied and there are 2 tenths of a second on the game clock when A2 inbounds the ball to A1 who takes a shot which enters the basket. The official indicates to the scorer that the basket counts and leaves the court. Is the official correct?
- A1 has the ball in front court with 10 seconds on the shot clock when B1 grabs the ball. The official calls a held ball. Team A has the possession arrow. The official gives the ball to Team A for a throw in and instructs the shot clock operator to reset the shot clock. Is he official correct?
- A1 has the ball in the front court with 10 seconds on the shot clock. A1 attempts a pass to A2 and the ball is kicked by B1. The official puts the ball in play at the spot nearest the violation with 10 seconds on the shot clock. Is the official correct?
- Yes 5-10-1
- Yes 5-2
- No 5.2.3
- No 2-11.7.e
- No 2-11.8
Questions and answers are based on the IAABO NFHS rulebook, casebook and, where appropriate, reference NCAA applications and differences.