- The possession arrow is favoring team B but the official mistakenly awards team A the ball for the throw-in. Team A commits a throw-in violation. The official awards the ball to team B and team B retains the arrow. Is the official correct?
- Team A has inbounded the ball. A1 should have been awarded a one and one. The error is discovered with A2 in possession after B1 intercepted the throw-in pass but fumbled the ball back to A-2. The official awards A1 his/her one and one with no players in the lane and awards the ball to team A at the point of interruption. Is the official correct?
- A1 commits a flagrant foul and is taken out of the game. While on the bench A1 continues his/her unsporting behavior toward one of the officials. The official charges the head coach with a direct technical foul. Is the official correct?
- A1 is fouled. Team A is erroneously awarded the ball out of bounds for the throw-in. A1 passes to A-2 who is fouled. The error is now recognized. The official awards A1 his/her one and one with no players in the lanes. Then the official awards A-2 his/her one and one with players occupying the marked lane spaces and keeps the ball in play as with any normal free throw. Is the official correct?
- A1 and B1 in the low post are whistled for a double personal foul while A-2 is dribbling behind the semicircle. The official awards the ball to team A nearest the spot of the foul. Is the official correct?
- Yes 6‐4‐5
- Yes 2‐10‐6
- No 4‐19‐5e
- Yes 2‐10‐6
- No 4‐36‐2a
NOTES: Sometimes we make mistakes (or the table does). That mistake may or may not have an immediate bearing on the game. A change of possession during a live ball may have a bearing on your actions. Read Rule 4 every week from now until the IAABO exam. The Rule 4 Definitions are the backbone of officiating. Make flashcards! Write down the situations that are more difficult or a challenge to understand.