To get the new quiz every week, click the Follow Button above NYB 5 In 5 in the sidebar.
Tag Archives: 5 In 5
“The hardest job in basketball is officiating. The game is fast paced with lots of things happening at once. Many of the rules are extremely difficult to interpret “on the run,” and no matter what is called, there will always be someone in the gym who saw the play differently. We are very fortunate that there are people around who will even take the job at all. Please, RESPECT THE REF.”
- Following a score by team A and before the ball is at the disposal of team B, a double technical foul is committed. The official uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play. Is the official correct?
- Team A is awarded an alternating possession throw-in by team A. B3 fouls A3 after the throw-in pass was touched by A2 inbounds. The official rules the arrow stays with team A because team A shall not lose its throw-in opportunity as a result of the foul. Is the official correct?
- Jumper A1 taps the ball and jumper B1 catches it before the jump ball ends. The official awards the ball to team A and sets the arrow toward team B’s basket. Is the official correct?
- A1 is fouled and erroneously awarded the ball out of bounds instead of a one and one. Team A inbounds the ball to A2. Then B2 forces a held ball. The error is now recognized. The possession arrow is favoring team A. The official clears the lanes and awards A1 the one and one and awards team A the ball using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?
- B1 secures a rebound at A’s basket and passes to B2 near the division line. A2, who is airborne from his/ her frontcourt, intercepts the pass and alights in his/her backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
- No 6-4-4, 4-42-5a
- Yes 4-3-3a
- No 2-10-6
- No 9-9-3
- No 4-12-2 & 3, 9-8
NOTE: Possession/correctable error and possession arrow comes up more often than we realize. It’s worth studying the rules covering these areas.
NYB on Facebook – Like My Page!
- A1 is injured and directed to the bench. The official instructs the timer to start the 15 second clock. Just as the interval begins, B6 and B7 approach the scorer’s table to enter the game. The official denies B6 and B7 from entering the game. Is the official correct?
- As the ball comes through the net, A1 grabs the ball and while straddling the end line throws a long pass to a teammate. The official sounds the whistle and charges A1 with a throw-in violation. Is the official correct?
- A1 is awarded a one and one. While the ball is in flight on the free throw, a double personal foul is assessed followed by A1 committing a free throw violation. The possession arrow favors team A. The official uses the alternating possession arrow to resume play. Is the official correct?
- Prior to A1 releasing the ball for a one and one, A2 commits a common foul on B2. Team B is in the bonus. Following A1’s free throws, the official awards B2 a one and one. Is the official correct?
- A1 is fouled and awarded a one and one. The official mistakenly has A1 attempt the free throws at the wrong basket. A1 makes both free throws. Prior to the ball being at the disposal of team B, the error is recognized. The official cancels the free throws and awards A1 his/her free throws at A’s basket and resumes play using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?
- No 3‐3‐1a, 3-3‐1d
- Yes 4‐42-2
- No 4‐36-2b
- No 4‐12-1 & 2a, 4-19-7, 10-6 Penalties 1b
- No 2‐10‐4 & 5 & 6
NYB on Facebook – Like My Page!
NYSUBOA and IAABO Board 42 have teamed up to create an online test for referees they call 5 In 5: 5 Questions – 5 Minutes. Each week NYSUBOA/IAABO 42 emails their members and posts 5 Rules questions to keep referees “In The Book”. Five questions doesn’t seem like a lot but over the course of a year that’s more than 250 questions, creates a weekly review for referees and a forum for tough questions. You don’t have to be a referee to answer the questions. Anyone can visit www.NYSUBOA.wordpress.com and get the questions and answers (I’ve heard coaches review the questions to keep referees sharp).You can also get a print copy of the test or submit questions interpreters will answer and post, if appropriate. The questions/answers are developed by William Modeste, NYSUBOA Interpreter and Jimm Paull, IAABO Board 42 Interpreter and based on the High School Federation Rule Book.
Follow the link on the Whistle Page to get all of the 5 In 5 tests (there have been 3 so far) or read 63 Things You Should Know As A Working Basketball Official and What’s In Your (Referee) Bag by Charles Lloyd. Both are invaluable to referees and many keep a copy with the rule books in their bags. Don’t keep rule books in your bag? Then you really should take a look.Charles Vasser Community Green 917.691.8037