To get the new quiz every week, click the Follow Button above NYB 5 In 5 in the sidebar.
Tag Archives: Basketball IQ
- A1 is attempting a three point try and is poked in the stomach by B1. The official calls an intentional foul on B1. Is the official correct?
- A1 is attempting a three point try and is fouled by B1. The try is successful. The official calls an intentional foul on B1. The official(s) administers one free throw and gives the ball to team A for a throw in. Is the official correct?
- The official(s) lines up both teams for 2 free throws for an intentional foul. Is the official correct?
- A1 takes a three point try and is fouled by B1. The try is successful. The officials calls an intentional foul on the play. A1 is given two free throws with no one in the foul lane. Team A is given the ball for a throw-in nearest the spot of the foul. Is the official correct?
- A1 has the ball for a throw-in when B1 reaches across the line and fouls A1. The official calls a technical foul. A2 takes two free throws and the ball is given to team A for the throw-in at half court opposite the table. Is the official correct?
- YES 4-19-3-c
- NO 10-6-11 penalty 4
- NO 10-6-11 penalty 4, 8-1-3
- YES 7-5-4-b
- NO 4-19-3-e, 9-2-10 penalty 4, 8-2,
- The score is Team A 80 and Team B 79 when the horn sounds to end the 4th quarter. Prior to the referee’s approval of the final score, the coach of Team A uses inappropriate language and directs and obscene gesture towards the officials. A technical foul is charged and the result of the free throws will determine the winner or whether overtime is required. Is the referee correct?
- Team A substitute No. 13 enters and plays the second quarter. At halftime, the official scorekeeper notices No. 13 is not in the score book and informs the officials. The 3rd quarter will start with a technical foul and possession to Team B. Is the referee correct?
- A1 is fouled by B1 just after the ball leaves the referee’s hand(s) on the jump to start overtime. Both teams are in the bonus. Possession is set towards the opponents basket when the ball is placed at the disposal of the free thrower. Is the referee correct?
- A pass, a tap or a try for field goal by A1 comes down several feet in front of the basket. The ball strikes the floor without touching any player and bounces into the basket. Two points are counted for A1. Is the referee correct?
- A technical foul by B1 occurs during the dead ball before the second quarter. The referee starts the second quarter by administering the free throws. The free throws are followed by a throw-in opposite the table at the division line. The alternate possession arrow is reversed. Is the referee correct?
NOTE: Are you keeping track of your score and average?
- A1 throw-in goes directly out of bounds, without being touched inbounds. The ofﬁcial rules this a throw-in violation. Is the ofﬁcial correct?
- Prior to the start of the game, Team B is charged with a technical foul. A6 replaces A-1 the designated starter to attempt the free throws. Ofﬁcial allows A6 to enter the game. Is the ofﬁcial correct?
- The scorer fails to record a free throw to team A in the ﬁrst quarter. At halftime the mistake is recognized. Ofﬁcial rules the mistake cannot be corrected because the time frame has expired. Is the ofﬁcial correct?
- Prior to airborne shooter A-1 returning to the ﬂoor, A1 is fouled. Ofﬁcial rules A1 was fouled in the act of shooting. Is the ofﬁcial correct?
- A1 commits his/her ﬁfth foul and is disqualiﬁed. Prior to team A replacing A1, Team A requests a timeout. Ofﬁcial grants the request. Is the ofﬁcial correct?
- Yes 9-2-2
- Yes 10-1-2a, 3-2-2a
- No 2-11-11
- Yes 4-1-2
- No 5-8-3b
NYB on Facebook – Like My Page!
- Following a score by team A and before the ball is at the disposal of team B, a double technical foul is committed. The official uses the alternating possession procedure to resume play. Is the official correct?
- Team A is awarded an alternating possession throw-in by team A. B3 fouls A3 after the throw-in pass was touched by A2 inbounds. The official rules the arrow stays with team A because team A shall not lose its throw-in opportunity as a result of the foul. Is the official correct?
- Jumper A1 taps the ball and jumper B1 catches it before the jump ball ends. The official awards the ball to team A and sets the arrow toward team B’s basket. Is the official correct?
- A1 is fouled and erroneously awarded the ball out of bounds instead of a one and one. Team A inbounds the ball to A2. Then B2 forces a held ball. The error is now recognized. The possession arrow is favoring team A. The official clears the lanes and awards A1 the one and one and awards team A the ball using the alternating possession procedure. Is the official correct?
- B1 secures a rebound at A’s basket and passes to B2 near the division line. A2, who is airborne from his/ her frontcourt, intercepts the pass and alights in his/her backcourt. The official rules a backcourt violation. Is the official correct?
- No 6-4-4, 4-42-5a
- Yes 4-3-3a
- No 2-10-6
- No 9-9-3
- No 4-12-2 & 3, 9-8
NOTE: Possession/correctable error and possession arrow comes up more often than we realize. It’s worth studying the rules covering these areas.